the family of man clervaux inside

The Family of Man

Clervaux

More information

The Family of Man

THE FAMILY OF MAN
a photographic legend at Clervaux Castle

The Family of Man is made up of 503 photographs by 273 artists, from 68 countries, brought together by Edward Steichen for the New York Museum of Modern Art (MoMA). Presented for the first time in 1955, the exhibition was meant as a manifesto for peace and the fundamental equality of mankind via the humanist photography of the post-war years. Images by artists such as Robert Capa, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Dorothea Lange, Robert Doisneau, August Sander and Ansel Adams were staged in a modernist and spectacular manner.

Having toured the globe, exhibited in over 150 museums worldwide, the final integral version of the exhibition was permanently installed in Clervaux Castle in 1994. Since its creation, having attracted over 10 million visitors, The Family of Man has entered the history of photography as a legendary exhibition. In 2003 the collection was inscribed in the UNESCO Memory of the World register.

The CNA

The Centre national de l’audiovisuel (CNA) was created in 1989, its main missions being to conserve and honour the national photography, film and sound heritage from Luxembourg. Today, the photography collection comprises over four hundred thousand documents, including two MoMA exhibitions: The Family of Man and The Bitter Years.

The Department of National Sites and Monuments, who studies and conserves the countrywide architectural heritage, joined with the CNA in order to renovate two singular spaces: Clervaux Castle and the water tower in Dudelange are changed into contemporary museum environments. This collaboration allowed the reinterpretation of these two legendary collections.

Edward Steichen

Edward Steichen was born in 1879 in Bivange, Luxembourg. A painter and renowned photographer, Steichen became director of the photography department at the MoMA, NY in 1947. The two exhibitions were bequeathed to the Luxembourg Government upon Steichen’s special request in the 1960s.

 

 

Photos: 1.-6. © CNA/Romain Girtgen | 7. © Eugène Harris | 8. © Jack Delano | 9. © Toni Frissell

in the surroundings

B.P. 12
L-9401 Vianden
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg

T.  +352 26 95 05 66 
E. 

This website uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide personalized content. If you proceed to navigate our website, you accept our use of cookies. I ACCEPT More info

the family of man clervaux interieur

The Family of Man

Clervaux

En savoir plus

The Family of Man

THE FAMILY OF MAN
une légende photographique au Château de Clervaux

La collection The Family of Man se compose de 503 photographies de 273 auteurs originaires de 68 pays, rassemblées par Edward Steichen pour le Museum of Modern Art de New York (MoMA). Présentée pour la première fois en 1955, l’exposition se veut un manifeste pour la paix et l’égalité fondamentale des hommes à travers la photographie humaniste d’après-guerre. Les images d’auteurs tels que Robert Capa, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Dorothea Lange, Robert Doisneau, August Sander, Ansel Adams, … sont mises en scène d’une manière moderniste et spectaculaire.

Après un voyage autour du monde dans plus de 150 musées, la dernière version intégrale de l’exposition est installée en 1994 au Château de Clervaux de façon permanente. Depuis sa création The Family of Man a attiré plus de 10 millions de visiteurs et entre ainsi dans l’histoire de la photographie comme exposition légendaire. Depuis 2003, elle fait partie des documents inscrits dans le registre de la Mémoire du Monde de l’UNESCO.

Le CNA

Le centre national de l’audiovisuel (CNA) a été créé en 1989 ; ses missions principales sont la préservation et la mise en valeur du patrimoine national photographique, filmique et sonore du Luxembourg. Sa collection photographique comprend aujourd’hui plus de quatre cent mille documents, dont deux expositions du MoMA : The Family of Man et The Bitter Years.

Le Service des sites et monuments nationaux, qui étudie et conserve le patrimoine architectural national, s'est associé avec le CNA pour réaménager et adapter aux exigences d'une muséographie contemporaine les deux espaces singuliers qui sont le Château de Clervaux et le Château d'eau à Dudelange. Cette collaboration a permis une réinterprétation de ces deux collections légendaires.

Edward Steichen

Edward Steichen est né en 1879 à Bivange, au Luxembourg. Peintre puis photographe célèbre, il prend la direction du Département Photographie du MoMA à New York en 1947. En hommage à son pays natal, Steichen lui-même propose de léguer les deux expositions au Gouvernement Luxembourgeois dans les années 1960.

Photos: 1.-6. © CNA/Romain Girtgen | 7. © Eugène Harris | 8. © Jack Delano | 9. © Toni Frissell

Labels

Dans les alentours

B.P. 12
L-9401 Vianden
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg

T.  +352 26 95 05 66 
E. 

Nous utilisons des cookies pour assurer le bon fonctionnement du site. En le consultant, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. ok En savoir plus