the family of man clervaux inside

The Family of Man

Clervaux

More information

The Family of Man

THE FAMILY OF MAN
a photographic legend at Clervaux Castle

The Family of Man is made up of 503 photographs by 273 artists, from 68 countries, brought together by Edward Steichen for the New York Museum of Modern Art (MoMA). Presented for the first time in 1955, the exhibition was meant as a manifesto for peace and the fundamental equality of mankind via the humanist photography of the post-war years. Images by artists such as Robert Capa, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Dorothea Lange, Robert Doisneau, August Sander and Ansel Adams were staged in a modernist and spectacular manner.

Having toured the globe, exhibited in over 150 museums worldwide, the final integral version of the exhibition was permanently installed in Clervaux Castle in 1994. Since its creation, having attracted over 10 million visitors, The Family of Man has entered the history of photography as a legendary exhibition. In 2003 the collection was inscribed in the UNESCO Memory of the World register.

The CNA

The Centre national de l’audiovisuel (CNA) was created in 1989, its main missions being to conserve and honour the national photography, film and sound heritage from Luxembourg. Today, the photography collection comprises over four hundred thousand documents, including two MoMA exhibitions: The Family of Man and The Bitter Years.

The Department of National Sites and Monuments, who studies and conserves the countrywide architectural heritage, joined with the CNA in order to renovate two singular spaces: Clervaux Castle and the water tower in Dudelange are changed into contemporary museum environments. This collaboration allowed the reinterpretation of these two legendary collections.

Edward Steichen

Edward Steichen was born in 1879 in Bivange, Luxembourg. A painter and renowned photographer, Steichen became director of the photography department at the MoMA, NY in 1947. The two exhibitions were bequeathed to the Luxembourg Government upon Steichen’s special request in the 1960s.

 

 

Photos: 1.-6. © CNA/Romain Girtgen | 7. © Eugène Harris | 8. © Jack Delano | 9. © Toni Frissell

in the surroundings

B.P. 12
L-9401 Vianden
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg

T.  +352 26 95 05 66 
E. 

This website uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide personalized content. If you proceed to navigate our website, you accept our use of cookies. I ACCEPT More info

the family of man clervaux innen

The Family of Man

Clervaux

Weitere Informationen

The Family of Man

THE FAMILY OF MAN
Eine legendäre Fotoausstellung im Schloss Clervaux

The Family of Man ist eine legendäre fotografische Ausstellung, zusammengestellt von Edward Steichen für das New Yorker Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in 1955. Die Ausstellung versteht sich als Manifest für den Frieden ausgedrückt durch die humanistische Fotografie der Nachkriegszeit. 503 Aufnahmen von 273 verschiedenen Künstlern wie z.B. Robert Capa, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Wayne Miller oder auch Dorothea Lange, werden auf modernistische und spektakuläre Weise in Szene gesetzt.

Nach einer internationalen Reise und weltweitem Erfolg, wird die letzte noch existierende Version der Wanderausstellung nun dauerhaft im Schloss Clervaux gezeigt. Seit 2003 ist sie Teil des UNESCO Weltdokumentenerbes.

Das CNA

Das nationale Institut für Bild und Ton (CNA) gibt es seit 1989. Seine Aufgaben sind die Bewahrung, das Sammeln und Vermitteln des nationalen Kulturerbes in den Bereichen Ton, Film und Fotografie. Die fotografische Sammlung umfasst heute über 400.000 Dokumente. Darunter befinden sich zwei Ausstellungen des MoMA: The Family of Man und The Bitter Years.

Das nationale Denkmalschutzamt hat in Zusammenarbeit mit dem CNA zwei außergewöhnliche Renovierungsprojekte unternommen: die Anpassung der Ausstellungsräume im Schloss Clervaux, sowie die Umwandlung des Wasserturms in Dudelange in ein Museumsgebäude. Diese Räume erlauben eine aktuelle und zeitgemäße Interpretation beider Sammlungen.

Edward Steichen

Edward Steichen wurde 1879 in Bivingen (Luxemburg) geboren. Maler und später bekannter Fotograf, wurde er 1947 zum Direktor der Fotoabteilung des New Yorker Museum of Modern Art (MoMA). Seinem Geburtsland zu Ehren, veranlasst er die Schenkung der beiden Sammlungen an das Großherzogtum in den 1960er Jahren.

 

Photos: 1.-6. © CNA/Romain Girtgen | 7. © Eugene Harris | 8. © Jack Delano | 9. © Toni Frissell

in der umgebung

B.P. 12
L-9401 Vianden
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg

T.  +352 26 95 05 66 
E. 

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies zum Zwecke der Optimierung des Angebots und der Personalisierung von Inhalten. Indem Sie auf der Seite weitersurfen, stimmen Sie der Verwendung dieser Cookies zu. ICH STIMME ZU Weitere Infos