Saint-Roch church Insenborn

Where? 1, An der Gaass, L-9150 Eschdorf

Discover the neo-Gothic splendour of the Insenborn church, built according to plans by architect Biver in 1861.

The church in Insenborn was built in the neo-Gothic style after the plan was drawn up by the architect Biver from Diekirch in 1861 and approved in January 1862. The foundation stone was laid on 12 June 1862. The building material was provided by the inhabitants, including stones from the surrounding area, house stones from Mertzig and wood from various places. The church was consecrated on 16 November of the same year. The baroque furniture was taken from the previous building, created by Jean-Georges Scholtus from Bastogne.

It is dedicated to Saint Roch. In the 20th century, the furnishings were modernised, although some statues were preserved. A second interior restoration took place in 2006, during which, among other things, the wooden benches were replaced by chairs.

Today's redesigned space includes expressive windows, new oak furniture and distinctive Stations of the Cross.

Opening hours

Opening hours are subject to change. Please check them before your visit in order to be sure.
Thursday27.08.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00
Friday28.08.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00
Saturday29.08.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00
Sunday30.08.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00
Monday31.08.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00 , 10:00 - 18:00
Tuesday01.09.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00 , 10:00 - 18:00
Wednesday02.09.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00 , 10:00 - 18:00

Contact

Address: Administration Communale d'Esch-sur-Sûre
1, An der Gaass
L-9150 Eschdorf
Show on map

More sites

©Samfaitvoyager
Bavigne dam
The Bavigne dam, part of the Upper Sûre reservoir, was built in the 1950s, requiring the relocation of mills and farmsteads. Standing at 23 meters, it guards the lake's pristine water quality. Today, as a popular diving spot, it unveils submerged remnants like bridges and a mill, echoing a rich history amid the progress.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
B-17 Bouncing Betty – Plane crash
The Bouncing Betty's Fateful Day in Boulaide
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Vianden Dam
The Vianden Dam is currently being transformed into an oversized artwork.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
free
with theLuxembourgPass
General Patton Memorial Museum
The General Patton Memorial Museum in Ettelbruck commemorates the commander of the 3rd US Army whose troops liberated the town on 25 December 1944. The exhibition illustrates the most important events that occurred during the Second World War in Luxembourg.
Find out more
©DCK
Former village mill Weiswampach
The village of Weiswampach holds a unique place in Éislek’s history. While most mills in the region were bound by thirlage laws, forcing villagers to use a specific mill and pay fees to the local lord, the Weiswampach mill was a remarkable exception. Though the mill itself no longer stands, its story reveals the complexities of the past and the ways local circumstances could sometimes defy rigid systems.
Find out more
Fransiscan Church
The Franciscan church of Troisvierges is an impressive religious landmark in the heart of the town. With its imposing architecture and historic charm, the church is a place of peace and contemplation.
Find out more
Përmeshaff – Estate ruins
Përmeshaff, a historic site near Kaundorf, traces its roots to 1195. Over the centuries, it evolved into a religious centre, attracting pilgrims to its chapel and healing springs. Despite enduring a devastating fire in 1936, recent archaeological efforts have unveiled layers of its rich history, highlighting significance of Përmeshaff as a cultural landmark.
Find out more
©Tourist Center Clervaux
The Benedictine abbey of Saint-Maurice
With centuries of history and majestic architecture, the Benedictine Abbey in Clervaux invites you to immerse yourself in the past. A place full of charm and meaning, it opens its doors to visitors on the occasion of the daily morning mass.
Find out more
Trinitarian church and cloister Vianden
Discover one of the most beautiful Gothic buildings in Luxembourg!
Find out more