©Visit Éislek

National Strike Monument Wiltz

Where? 35, Rue du Château, L-9516 Wiltz

Visit the impressive monument commemorating the general strike during the Second World War. Learn more about the tragic events of that time that shaped Luxembourg's history.

After the introduction of compulsory military service in August 1942, a general strike broke out in Wiltz against the occupiers. The strike movement quickly spread throughout the country, which the occupiers responded to with brutal violence. 21 Luxembourgers were executed.

A monument in the shape of a lighthouse commemorates the victims of the general strike during the Second World War. It was built of Wiltz slate and inaugurated on 30 September 1956. On the street side, a relief made of red sandstone depicts the battle of the biblical David against Goliath and symbolises the courageous resistance of the Luxembourgers against the overpowering Third Reich. The reverse side shows Luxembourg strikers arrested and collapsing under bullets in the Hintzert concentration camp.

The monument stands as a memorial to the free world to stand up every day against violence, oppression and disregard for human rights. Every year on 31 August, the courageous victims are commemorated in a memorial ceremony.


Practical information

  • Accessible to all

Culture info

  • History

Contact

Address: Syndicat d'Initiative et du Tourisme Wiltz
35, Rue du Château
L-9516 Wiltz
Show on map

More sites

©Caroline Martin
Exhibition “Our Common Heritage”
An ambitious and unifying project, the exhibition “Our Common Heritage” in Boulaide takes an original and completely new approach to the history lived in the cross-border territories of the Greater Region, whose imprint still marks the current geopolitical context.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Vianden Dam
The Vianden Dam is currently being transformed into an oversized artwork.
Find out more
©Industrie.lu
Antimonmine – Abandoned mine
Amidst the tranquil landscape, Goesdorf's geological tapestry reveals remnants of shafts and galleries, preserving the legacy of this "foundry village."
Find out more
©Syndicat d'Initiative Stolzemburg
Putscheid Stolzebuerger Schlass – Former Castle
Stolzembourg Castle, rooted in history since 1192, witnessed destruction in 1454 and 1679 before being revitalized with a Scottish-style manor house in 1898.
Find out more
©Commune de Troisvierges
Troisvierges Trainstation
Troisvierges Station's story mirrors a dynamic era in European history. From a modest border stop, it transformed into a vital transportation hub, only to witness the turmoil of war and the gradual shift toward quieter days.
Find out more
Decanal church
The Wiltz Deanery Church has two naves and was built at many periods, repeatedly destroyed, enlarged and altered. A visit provides an insight into the building's turbulent past.
Find out more
©DCK
Former village mill Weiswampach
The village of Weiswampach holds a unique place in Éislek’s history. While most mills in the region were bound by thirlage laws, forcing villagers to use a specific mill and pay fees to the local lord, the Weiswampach mill was a remarkable exception. Though the mill itself no longer stands, its story reveals the complexities of the past and the ways local circumstances could sometimes defy rigid systems.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Bunker Kaundorf
This bunker from World War II, where deserted forced conscripts hid until liberation, can be reached via an approx. 1 km-long footpath. The walk is well worth it, as hikers near the bunker are rewarded by an impressive view over the Upper Sûre Lake.
Find out more
©© Giulio Groebert
Esch-sur-Sûre dam
The impressive dam in Esch-Sauer was built between 1955 and 1958 and blends harmoniously into nature. Its arched design makes it a popular photo spot for photographers and nature enthusiasts.
Find out more