©Visit Éislek

St. Lawrence Church Diekirch

Where? 5, Rue du Curé, L-9217 Diekirch

The Laurentius Church in Diekirch was planned by Pierre Biwer and completed in 1868. It was declared a national monument in 2017.

The old St. Lawrence church in Diekirch was built on a Roman cult site in the Middle Ages.
The interior of the church is decorated with fine frescoes from the 16th and 17th centuries. The remains of a cemetery, probably dating back to the Merovingian period, were discovered in 1960 under the church.


Culture info

  • Visit possible (& visit information): Geführte Besichtigung Diekirch / Guided Tour Diekirch / Visite guidée Diekirch

Contact

Address: St. Laurentius Kirche
5, Rue du Curé
L-9217 Diekirch
Show on map

More sites

©Visit Éislek
B-17 Bouncing Betty – Plane crash
The Bouncing Betty's Fateful Day in Boulaide
Find out more
©Samfaitvoyager
Bavigne dam
The Bavigne dam, part of the Upper Sûre reservoir, was built in the 1950s, requiring the relocation of mills and farmsteads. Standing at 23 meters, it guards the lake's pristine water quality. Today, as a popular diving spot, it unveils submerged remnants like bridges and a mill, echoing a rich history amid the progress.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Bourscheid Hougeriicht – High justice
In the 15th or 16th century, a witch trial in Bourscheid unfolded with accusations of devilish pacts and plots against God's creation. This dark chapter mirrors a broader era of witch hunts in Luxembourg, fueled by societal turmoil, economic struggles, and the fear of a mysterious witchcraft sect.
Find out more
Saint-Michel Chapel
The Saint-Michel Chapel towers high above Oberschlinder, surrounded by forest and accessible via hiking trails.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Museum of the Battle of the Bulge Wiltz
Discover the moving history of the "martyr town" during the Battle of the Bulge in the interactive museum in Wiltz. Experience history up close in the beautiful Wiltz Castle.
Find out more
©Communes de Witz
Gierwerei – Leather industry
Wiltz: Where Leather Found a Global Market
Find out more
©© Giulio Groebert
Esch-sur-Sûre dam
The impressive dam in Esch-Sauer was built between 1955 and 1958 and blends harmoniously into nature. Its arched design makes it a popular photo spot for photographers and nature enthusiasts.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
St. Pierre Chapel
The chapel in Lellingen is an octagonal masterpiece that combines history and architecture in unique harmony.
Find out more
Përmeshaff – Estate ruins
Përmeshaff, a historic site near Kaundorf, traces its roots to 1195. Over the centuries, it evolved into a religious centre, attracting pilgrims to its chapel and healing springs. Despite enduring a devastating fire in 1936, recent archaeological efforts have unveiled layers of its rich history, highlighting significance of Përmeshaff as a cultural landmark.
Find out more