©385BGMM

W.W.II 385th Bomb Group Museum Perlé

Where? 6, Rue de l'Eglise, 8826 Perlé

Discover the unfortunate story of two US bombers who collided near Perlé in this military museum.

This unique museum mainly deals with the tragic crash of two B-17 US bombers that collided over Perlé on 12 July 1944 while flying in formation. Eighteen crew members were killed in the crash. With many wreckage parts, documents and equipment, the air war and the occupation period 1940-45 are thematised.

An impressive memorial in honour of the fallen of the 385th Bomb Group is located in the immediate vicinity of the museum.


Culture info

  • History

Opening hours

The museum is open every second Sunday from 10:00 to 16:00. Last admission is one hour before closing time. Visits by appointment are possible with two weeks' notice.

Contact

Address: W.W.II 385th Bomb Group Museum Perlé
6, Rue de l'Eglise
L-8826 Perlé
Show on map

More sites

Përmeshaff – Estate ruins
Përmeshaff, a historic site near Kaundorf, traces its roots to 1195. Over the centuries, it evolved into a religious centre, attracting pilgrims to its chapel and healing springs. Despite enduring a devastating fire in 1936, recent archaeological efforts have unveiled layers of its rich history, highlighting significance of Përmeshaff as a cultural landmark.
Find out more
©Charles Leon Mayer
Schleef Gare – Former Trainstation
Schleif: Tiny Hamlet, Big Role in the Battle of the Bulge
Find out more
©Tourist Center Clervaux
The Benedictine abbey of Saint-Maurice
With centuries of history and majestic architecture, the Benedictine Abbey in Clervaux invites you to immerse yourself in the past. A place full of charm and meaning, it opens its doors to visitors on the occasion of the daily morning mass.
Find out more
©Musée Photographica
Photographica Museum
Immerse yourself in the fascinating world of photography in the heart of Doennange. This unique museum presents an impressive collection of over 1500 historic cameras, film cameras, projectors, magic lanterns and other accessories.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Bourscheid Hougeriicht – High justice
In the 15th or 16th century, a witch trial in Bourscheid unfolded with accusations of devilish pacts and plots against God's creation. This dark chapter mirrors a broader era of witch hunts in Luxembourg, fueled by societal turmoil, economic struggles, and the fear of a mysterious witchcraft sect.
Find out more
©Syndicat d'Initiative Stolzemburg
Putscheid Stolzebuerger Schlass – Former Castle
Stolzembourg Castle, rooted in history since 1192, witnessed destruction in 1454 and 1679 before being revitalized with a Scottish-style manor house in 1898.
Find out more
Trinitarian church and cloister Vianden
Discover one of the most beautiful Gothic buildings in Luxembourg!
Find out more
©Naturpark Oewersauer, Naturpark Oewersauer
Circular routes
Schumannseck 1944-1945 Memorial Path
Distance: 3,09 km
Duration: 0:50 h
Difficulty: easy
Find out more
Saint-Michel Chapel
The Saint-Michel Chapel towers high above Oberschlinder, surrounded by forest and accessible via hiking trails.
Find out more