Decanal church

Where? Place des Tilleuls, L-9575 Wiltz

The Wiltz Deanery Church has two naves and was built at many periods, repeatedly destroyed, enlarged and altered. A visit provides an insight into the building's turbulent past.

The base of the tower may have been built as a Roman watchtower around the year 300. It seems to have stood alone as a tower at first, and only later became the choir of the first church.The present old part of the church dates from 1510. The roof of the church tower was also built in the same year. In the basement of the tower was the burial chamber of the castle family. The Niederwiltz tower clock was already working 300 years ago. The two side altars, which were built as guild altars in 1720 and 1722, and the old sermon seat are remarkable. The burial chamber of the castle family was first opened in 1844. Two coffins and the bones of four dead people were found in the 12 x 8 x 5.5 foot vault.The tomb was opened a second time in 1859 and after everything had been recorded, it was closed again. When the church was rebuilt in 1937.1938, all the bones found in the former cemetery were poured into this tomb, which was thus largely filled. The nobility was now united with the people. In 1968, all the bones were moved to the new cemetery and the old church, which had been badly damaged in the Battle of the Bulge and rebuilt in 1946, was renovated. Inside, you can admire some tombstones of the nobles of Wiltz.

Opening hours

Contact

Address: Decanal church
Place des Tilleuls
L-9575 Wiltz
Show on map

More sites

© Tourist Center Clervaux
The Benedictine abbey of Saint-Maurice
With centuries of history and majestic architecture, the Benedictine Abbey in Clervaux invites you to immerse yourself in the past. A place full of charm and meaning, it opens its doors to visitors on the occasion of the daily morning mass.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
St. Lawrence Church Diekirch
The Laurentius Church in Diekirch was planned by Pierre Biwer and completed in 1868. It was declared a national monument in 2017.
Find out more
© Samfaitvoyager
Bavigne dam
The Bavigne dam, part of the Upper Sûre reservoir, was built in the 1950s, requiring the relocation of mills and farmsteads. Standing at 23 meters, it guards the lake's pristine water quality. Today, as a popular diving spot, it unveils submerged remnants like bridges and a mill, echoing a rich history amid the progress.
Find out more
© Anabela and Jorge Valente diariesof
Bildchen Chapel
The Bildchen Chapel in Vianden is located at a pilgrimage site above the reservoir of the pumped storage plant and is worth a visit because of its idyllic location.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Bunker Kaundorf
This bunker from World War II, where deserted forced conscripts hid until liberation, can be reached via an approx. 1 km-long footpath. The walk is well worth it, as hikers near the bunker are rewarded by an impressive view over the Upper Sûre Lake.
Find out more
© Joachim Köhler
Loretto Chapel
The Loretto Chapel in Clervaux is a 18th century baroque jewel that fascinates visitors with its ornate architecture.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Vianden Dam
The Vianden Dam is currently being transformed into an oversized artwork.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
St. Cunegonde Chapel
The St. Cunegonde Chapel in Heiderscheidergrund, a noteworthy example of 19th-century ecclesiastical historicist architecture in Luxembourg, features a neo-Gothic design, late Gothic sculptures, 18th-century statues, and glass paintings, embodying the country's historical and national consciousness as the oldest Kunigundis shrine.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Deiwelselter
This remarkable monument, once a burial site, is a landmark of the town of Diekirch. Those who hike there are rewarded by a great view of the village and its green surroundings.
Find out more