©Visit Éislek

Memorial Site Schumann's Eck

Where? Rue Grande-Duchesse Charlotte, L-9515 Wiltz

At the strategic road junction "Schumannseck", the most murderous position war raged for weeks during the Battle of the Bulge. Today, the 1944-1945 Liberation Memorial stands here in the spirit of reconciliation and understanding between peoples as a memorial against war in the world.

During the Battle of the Bulge, the "Schumann's Eck" was a strategically important road junction, which unfortunately became one of the cruellest battlefields in Luxembourg.

The "National Liberation Memorial" commemorates the thousands of soldiers that died in this battle. Another memorial called Massegraf (mass grave) is located on the spot where more than 160 German and some American soldiers were temporarily buried. 

A memorial trail of 3 kilometres leads through the forest past old, partly reconstructed trenches. Life-size historical photos of American and German soldiers as well as Luxembourg civilians at various stations illustrate the events of that time.


Practical information

  • Accessible to all

Culture info

  • Visit possible (& visit information)

Contact

Address: Syndicat d'Initiative et du Tourisme Wiltz
35, Rue du Château
L-9516 Wiltz
Show on map

More sites

©DCK
Former village mill Weiswampach
The village of Weiswampach holds a unique place in Éislek’s history. While most mills in the region were bound by thirlage laws, forcing villagers to use a specific mill and pay fees to the local lord, the Weiswampach mill was a remarkable exception. Though the mill itself no longer stands, its story reveals the complexities of the past and the ways local circumstances could sometimes defy rigid systems.
Find out more
©Joachim Köhler
Notre-Dame de Lorette Chapel
A Gem of Clervaux's Spiritual Heritage
Find out more
©Commune de Hosingen
Women’s convent in Hosingen
Discover the echoes of time in Hosingen's ancient Augustinian convent, a sanctuary of nobility and learning from its enigmatic origins to poignant its dissolution. Its walls resonate with Luxembourg's rich heritage!
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Centre Cinqfontaines
The small village of Cinqfontaines (Five Wells), not far from Troisvierges, is home to a former monastery built at the beginning of the 20th century. In 1941 it was confiscated by the Nazis who used it as a place of internment for Jews from Luxembourg.
Find out more
The Chapel of St Mark
St Mark's Chapel in Longsdorf attracts visitors as a popular place of pilgrimage, especially on 25 April, the feast day of the holy patron saint. The chapel with its two-nave design, geometric paintings and a baroque altar is certainly worth a visit.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Kalborn Mill
The mill in Kalborn, which is over 200 years old, has developed into a nature conservation centre. Endangered river pearl and brook mussels are bred here. Information boards in front of the mill show how gardens can provide habitats for wildlife and insects.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
free
with theLuxembourgPass
Copper Mine Stolzembourg
Accompanied by a guide, discover the informative museum about the geology of the region, the history of the mine and the different mining periods. Follow the geological trail with 10 display panels and explore the deep underground galleries!
Find out more
©Visit Clervaux
free
with theLuxembourgPass
Museum Bataille et Châteaux - Battle of the Bulge and castle models
Treat yourself to a journey into the past and into other dimensions! This unique exhibition is suitable for young and old alike. Here you can discover history in a new way.
Find out more
©PNDO
Houffelter Kanal - Meuse-Moselle Canal
The Canal That Never Was: The Ambitious Plan to Link Belgium and Luxembourg
Find out more