© Visit Éislek

Patton Monument Ettelbruck

Where? 102, Avenue J.-F. Kennedy, L-9147 Erpeldange-sur-Sûre

Discover the Patton Memorial in Ettelbruck, an important place of remembrance. This monument honours General George Patton Jr, whose 3rd US Army liberated Ettelbruck in December 1944, stopping the invasion of the Wehrmacht during the Battle of the Bulge.

This memorial to General George Patton Jr, commander of the 3rd US Army which liberated Ettelbruck in December 1944, is located at a historical juncture. Here, the American troops succeeded in preventing the invasion of the Wehrmacht into the heartland of Luxembourg during the Battle of the Bulge.

The base of the monument inaugurated in 1954 is engraved with a sword driven into the ground, symbolising the armistice and peace. The emblematic animal of the USA, the bald eagle, is enthroned above it.
Since 1970, a bronze statue of General Patton and a US battle tank complete the memorial.


Practical information

  • Outdoor
  • Accessible to all

Culture info

  • History

Opening hours

Please make sure to enable your Cookies in case you don't see this content.

Contact

Address: Ettelbruck City Tourist Office
5, Rue Abbé Muller
L-9065 Ettelbruck
Show on map

More sights

Trinitarian church and cloister Vianden
Discover one of the most beautiful Gothic buildings in Luxembourg!
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
St. Pierre Chapel
The chapel in Lellingen is an octagonal masterpiece that combines history and architecture in unique harmony.
Find out more
Saint-Hubert Church
Discover the fascinating architecture of the church, built on the ruins of a pagan site!
Find out more
© Naturpark Oewersauer, Naturpark Oewersauer
Circular routes
Hiking trail Schumannseck - Site Memorial 1944-1945
Distance: 3,12 km
Duration: 0:50 h
Difficulty: easy
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
St. Lawrence Church Diekirch
The Laurentius Church in Diekirch was planned by Pierre Biwer and completed in 1868. It was declared a national monument in 2017.
Find out more
© Samfaitvoyager
Bavigne dam
The Bavigne dam, part of the Upper Sûre reservoir, was built in the 1950s, requiring the relocation of mills and farmsteads. Standing at 23 meters, it guards the lake's pristine water quality. Today, as a popular diving spot, it unveils submerged remnants like bridges and a mill, echoing a rich history amid the progress.
Find out more
The Chapel of St Mark
St Mark's Chapel in Longsdorf attracts visitors as a popular place of pilgrimage, especially on 25 April, the feast day of the holy patron saint. The chapel with its two-nave design, geometric paintings and a baroque altar is certainly worth a visit.
Find out more
Decanal church
The Wiltz Deanery Church has two naves and was built at many periods, repeatedly destroyed, enlarged and altered. A visit provides an insight into the building's turbulent past.
Find out more
© © Giulio Groebert
Esch-sur-Sûre dam
The impressive dam in Esch-Sauer was built between 1955 and 1958 and blends harmoniously into nature. Its arched design makes it a popular photo spot for photographers and nature enthusiasts.
Find out more