© Visit Éislek

St. Pierre Chapel

Where? L-9760 Lellingen

The chapel in Lellingen is an octagonal masterpiece that combines history and architecture in unique harmony.

The picturesque village of Lellingen, part of the municipality of Kiischpelt in the canton of Wiltz, was recognised as a model village by the Service des Sites et Monuments in 1984 and preserves its authentic atmosphere. The octagonal Saint-Pierre church sits enthroned in the middle of the village.

Lellingen, a charming village in the Oesling, located about 10 kilometres east of Wiltz, unites at the crossroads of three streams: Lellgerbaach, Pëntschbach and the largest, the Clerve, which surrounds the chapel. The original chapel, dedicated to Saint Peter, was probably built around 1750 and consisted of an oblong building with 4 small windows. In the 19th century, the chapel was extended and given its definitive shape. With its unique architecture, the chapel presents itself with a narrow, elongated choir and a higher, roof-shaped transept. In the middle of the transept rises a small tower with a single bell from 1840, dedicated to Saint John. The interior is characterised by statues and reliquaries reflecting the rural piety of the Baroque and the 19th century.

A special feature is the wooden altar retable, framed by doors that provide access to the small sacristy. The Regence-style décor with acanthus leaves and vines decorates the altar. The chapel blends seamlessly into the village and remains a lively place that regularly hosts exhibitions and attracts tourists, especially during the annual Open Air Konstfestival since 1991. The chapel is a significant work of art of historical, architectural and aesthetic value that complements the authentic atmosphere of the village.

Opening hours

Contact

Address: Kapelle St. Pierre
L-9760 Lellingen
Show on map

More sites

© Joachim Köhler
Loretto Chapel
The Loretto Chapel in Clervaux is a 18th century baroque jewel that fascinates visitors with its ornate architecture.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Vianden Dam
The Vianden Dam is currently being transformed into an oversized artwork.
Find out more
Holy Church Lieler
The Roman Catholic church "Zum Heiligen Kreuz" in Lieler impresses with a Gothic choir tower from the 14th century, accompanied by frescoes from the 16th century.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Deiwelselter
This remarkable monument, once a burial site, is a landmark of the town of Diekirch. Those who hike there are rewarded by a great view of the village and its green surroundings.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Kalborn Mill
The mill in Kalborn, which is over 200 years old, has developed into a nature conservation centre. Endangered river pearl and brook mussels are bred here. Information boards in front of the mill show how gardens can provide habitats for wildlife and insects.
Find out more
© Naturpark Öewersauer
Abandoned antimonymine in Goesdorf
Amidst the tranquil landscape, Goesdorf's geological tapestry reveals remnants of shafts and galleries, preserving the legacy of this "foundry village."
Find out more
© Naturpark Oewersauer, Naturpark Oewersauer
Circular routes
Hiking trail Schumannseck - Site Memorial 1944-1945
Distance: 3,09 km
Duration: 0:50 h
Difficulty: easy
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Centre Cinqfontaines
The small village of Cinqfontaines (Five Wells), not far from Troisvierges, is home to a former monastery built at the beginning of the 20th century. In 1941 it was confiscated by the Nazis who used it as a ghetto for Jews from Luxembourg.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Church Saints-Côme-et-Damien
The parish church of Sts Côme et Damien in Clervaux, built in 1910/1911 in the Rhenish-Romanesque style, impresses with its striking dome above the altar and its majestic twin towers with melodic chimes.
Find out more