Trinitarian church and cloister Vianden

Where? 49, Grand-rue, L-9411 Vianden

Discover one of the most beautiful Gothic buildings in Luxembourg!

Built entirely in 1248, the church of the Trinitarians is one of the finest expressions of Gothic art in Luxembourg. The large choir was added in 1644. The main altar, made in 1758 in Rococo style, is the work of the artist Michel Weiler. Beside the church, the former cloister of the Trinitarians (1250). The recumbent effigy of Marie de Spanheim (approx. 1400) preserves the memory of the last descendant of the Counts of Vianden. 

Opening hours

Contact

Address: Trinitarian church and cloister Vianden
49, Grand-rue
L-9411 Vianden
Show on map

More sites

©Industrie.lu
Antimonmine – Abandoned mine
Amidst the tranquil landscape, Goesdorf's geological tapestry reveals remnants of shafts and galleries, preserving the legacy of this "foundry village."
Find out more
©Syndicat d'Initiative Stolzemburg
Putscheid Stolzebuerger Schlass – Former Castle
Stolzembourg Castle, rooted in history since 1192, witnessed destruction in 1454 and 1679 before being revitalized with a Scottish-style manor house in 1898.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Centre Cinqfontaines
The small village of Cinqfontaines (Five Wells), not far from Troisvierges, is home to a former monastery built at the beginning of the 20th century. In 1941 it was confiscated by the Nazis who used it as a place of internment for Jews from Luxembourg.
Find out more
©Naturpark Oewersauer, Naturpark Oewersauer
Circular routes
Schumannseck 1944-1945 Memorial Path
Distance: 3,09 km
Duration: 0:50 h
Difficulty: easy
Find out more
Saint-Roch church Insenborn
Discover the neo-Gothic splendour of the Insenborn church, built according to plans by architect Biver in 1861.
Find out more
Saint-Hubert Church
Discover the fascinating architecture of the church, built on the ruins of a pagan site!
Find out more
©Musée de l'Ardoise
free
with theLuxembourgPass
Slate Museum - Musée de l'Ardoise
Discover the fascinating world underground at the Haut-Martelange Slate Museum! Experience the history and techniques of slate extraction and immerse yourself in the new, fascinating "Johanna" visitor gallery. Experience the everyday life of slate workers at first hand!
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
free
with theLuxembourgPass
General Patton Memorial Museum
The General Patton Memorial Museum in Ettelbruck commemorates the commander of the 3rd US Army whose troops liberated the town on 25 December 1944. The exhibition illustrates the most important events that occurred during the Second World War in Luxembourg.
Find out more
The Chapel of St Mark
St Mark's Chapel in Longsdorf attracts visitors as a popular place of pilgrimage, especially on 25 April, the feast day of the holy patron saint. The chapel with its two-nave design, geometric paintings and a baroque altar is certainly worth a visit.
Find out more