Anti-tank gun 43

Where? Houfels, L-9639 Boulaide

At the Houfëls viewpoint, the imposing presence of two World War II relics awaits visitors.

At the Houfëls viewpoint, visitors are greeted by the imposing presence of two relics from the Second World War: the German Pak 43 anti-tank gun and the heavy 15cm field howitzer sFH18. These historical artefacts are reminders of an era that has thankfully passed.
From Houfëls, also known as Hochfels, a breathtaking panoramic view opens up over the picturesque Sauer valley near Boulaide.


Practical information

  • Outdoor

Opening hours

Please make sure to enable your Cookies in case you don't see this content.

Contact

Address: Anti-tank gun 43
Houfels
L-9639 Boulaide
Show on map

More sites

© Visit Éislek
St. Cunegonde Chapel
The St. Cunegonde Chapel in Heiderscheidergrund, a noteworthy example of 19th-century ecclesiastical historicist architecture in Luxembourg, features a neo-Gothic design, late Gothic sculptures, 18th-century statues, and glass paintings, embodying the country's historical and national consciousness as the oldest Kunigundis shrine.
Find out more
© Samfaitvoyager
Bavigne dam
The Bavigne dam, part of the Upper Sûre reservoir, was built in the 1950s, requiring the relocation of mills and farmsteads. Standing at 23 meters, it guards the lake's pristine water quality. Today, as a popular diving spot, it unveils submerged remnants like bridges and a mill, echoing a rich history amid the progress.
Find out more
© © Giulio Groebert
Esch-sur-Sûre dam
The impressive dam in Esch-Sauer was built between 1955 and 1958 and blends harmoniously into nature. Its arched design makes it a popular photo spot for photographers and nature enthusiasts.
Find out more
The Chapel of St Mark
St Mark's Chapel in Longsdorf attracts visitors as a popular place of pilgrimage, especially on 25 April, the feast day of the holy patron saint. The chapel with its two-nave design, geometric paintings and a baroque altar is certainly worth a visit.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Deiwelselter
This remarkable monument, once a burial site, is a landmark of the town of Diekirch. Those who hike there are rewarded by a great view of the village and its green surroundings.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Vianden Dam
The Vianden Dam is currently being transformed into an oversized artwork.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Centre Cinqfontaines
The small village of Cinqfontaines (Five Wells), not far from Troisvierges, is home to a former monastery built at the beginning of the 20th century. In 1941 it was confiscated by the Nazis who used it as a ghetto for Jews from Luxembourg.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
St. Pierre Chapel
The chapel in Lellingen is an octagonal masterpiece that combines history and architecture in unique harmony.
Find out more
Përmeshaff – Estate ruins
Përmeshaff, a historic site near Kaundorf, traces its roots to 1195. Over the centuries, it evolved into a religious centre, attracting pilgrims to its chapel and healing springs. Despite enduring a devastating fire in 1936, recent archaeological efforts have unveiled layers of its rich history, highlighting significance of Përmeshaff as a cultural landmark.
Find out more