© Visit Éislek

Church Saints-Côme-et-Damien

Where? 6, Montée du Château, L-9710 Clervaux

The parish church of Sts Côme et Damien in Clervaux, built in 1910/1911 in the Rhenish-Romanesque style, impresses with its striking dome above the altar and its majestic twin towers with melodic chimes.

The church building combines harmonious proportions both outside and inside and is characterised by Original Christian symbols. Its exterior design with the dominant twin-tower façade surrounded by smaller towers gives the building a charming appearance. The basilica-like layout, quarry stone from the Ardennes and ornate mosaics give the church a significant historical presence. 

Inside, works by Lambert Piedboeuf, including the impressive mosaic in the choir room, create a spiritual atmosphere. The ornate stained glass windows were recreated by Gustav Zanter after the fighting in the Second World War. The organ and bells add to the impressive heritage of this church."

Opening hours

Opening hours are subject to change. Please check them before your visit in order to be sure.
Friday24.05.2024 : 09:00 - 18:30
Saturday25.05.2024 : 09:00 - 18:30
Sunday26.05.2024 : 09:00 - 18:30
Monday27.05.2024 : 09:00 - 18:30
Tuesday28.05.2024 : 09:00 - 18:30
Wednesday29.05.2024 : 09:00 - 18:30
Thursday30.05.2024 : 09:00 - 18:30
Please make sure to enable your Cookies in case you don't see this content.

Contact

Address: Administration Communale de Clervaux
6, Montée du Château
L-9710 Clervaux
Show on map

More sites

© Samfaitvoyager
Bavigne dam
The Bavigne dam, part of the Upper Sûre reservoir, was built in the 1950s, requiring the relocation of mills and farmsteads. Standing at 23 meters, it guards the lake's pristine water quality. Today, as a popular diving spot, it unveils submerged remnants like bridges and a mill, echoing a rich history amid the progress.
Find out more
© Anabela and Jorge Valente diariesof
Bildchen Chapel
The Bildchen Chapel in Vianden is located at a pilgrimage site above the reservoir of the pumped storage plant and is worth a visit because of its idyllic location.
Find out more
The Chapel of St Mark
St Mark's Chapel in Longsdorf attracts visitors as a popular place of pilgrimage, especially on 25 April, the feast day of the holy patron saint. The chapel with its two-nave design, geometric paintings and a baroque altar is certainly worth a visit.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
St. Cunegonde Chapel
The St. Cunegonde Chapel in Heiderscheidergrund, a noteworthy example of 19th-century ecclesiastical historicist architecture in Luxembourg, features a neo-Gothic design, late Gothic sculptures, 18th-century statues, and glass paintings, embodying the country's historical and national consciousness as the oldest Kunigundis shrine.
Find out more
© Naturpark Oewersauer, Naturpark Oewersauer
Circular routes
Hiking trail Schumannseck - Site Memorial 1944-1945
Distance: 3,09 km
Duration: 0:50 h
Difficulty: easy
Find out more
Anti-tank gun 43
At the Houfëls viewpoint, the imposing presence of two World War II relics awaits visitors.
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
Bunker Kaundorf
This bunker from World War II, where deserted forced conscripts hid until liberation, can be reached via an approx. 1 km-long footpath. The walk is well worth it, as hikers near the bunker are rewarded by an impressive view over the Upper Sûre Lake.
Find out more
Trinitarian church and cloister Vianden
Discover one of the most beautiful Gothic buildings in Luxembourg!
Find out more
© Visit Éislek
National Strike Monument Wiltz
Visit the impressive monument commemorating the general strike during the Second World War. Learn more about the tragic events of that time that shaped Luxembourg's history.
Find out more