©Caroline Martin

Exhibition “Our Common Heritage”

Where? 3, rue de la Mairie, L-9640 Boulaide

An ambitious and unifying project, the exhibition “Our Common Heritage” in Boulaide takes an original and completely new approach to the history lived in the cross-border territories of the Greater Region, whose imprint still marks the current geopolitical context.

Live our history: an immersive and participatory experience

This exhibition offers to immerse oneself in the key events of these decades of the 20th century that shaped Europe while highlighting the local history of the Greater Region whose perimeter extends over 4 countries: Belgium, Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, Germany and France.
“Our Common Heritage” thus traces the experience of the populations in the cross-border territories from the Belle Epoque to the creation of Europe. This cross-reading of our history in the Greater Region is unprecedented and original.

Giant photo albums provide visitors with international historical landmarks before showing how civilian and military life in the Grande Région has evolved over the decades, highlighting our similarities and differences.
The immersive experience, offered in a converted container, gives way to strong emotion thanks to the sound and visual universe created for this extraordinary historical retrospective.

In front of the municipality, “Our Common Heritage” can be visited free of charge.
It is open from Monday to Friday from 10 am to 5 pm and from Saturday to Sunday from 10 am to 6 pm.

Opening hours

Opening hours are subject to change. Please check them before your visit in order to be sure.
Tuesday25.08.2026 : 10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday26.08.2026 : 10:00 - 17:00
Thursday27.08.2026 : 10:00 - 17:00
Friday28.08.2026 : 10:00 - 17:00
Saturday29.08.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00
Sunday30.08.2026 : 10:00 - 18:00
Monday31.08.2026 : 10:00 - 17:00

Contact

Address: Our Common Heritage
3, rue de la Mairie
L-9640 Boulaide
Show on map

More sites

©Samfaitvoyager
Bavigne dam
The Bavigne dam, part of the Upper Sûre reservoir, was built in the 1950s, requiring the relocation of mills and farmsteads. Standing at 23 meters, it guards the lake's pristine water quality. Today, as a popular diving spot, it unveils submerged remnants like bridges and a mill, echoing a rich history amid the progress.
Find out more
©DCK
Former village mill Weiswampach
The village of Weiswampach holds a unique place in Éislek’s history. While most mills in the region were bound by thirlage laws, forcing villagers to use a specific mill and pay fees to the local lord, the Weiswampach mill was a remarkable exception. Though the mill itself no longer stands, its story reveals the complexities of the past and the ways local circumstances could sometimes defy rigid systems.
Find out more
Decanal church
The Wiltz Deanery Church has two naves and was built at many periods, repeatedly destroyed, enlarged and altered. A visit provides an insight into the building's turbulent past.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Centre Cinqfontaines
The small village of Cinqfontaines (Five Wells), not far from Troisvierges, is home to a former monastery built at the beginning of the 20th century. In 1941 it was confiscated by the Nazis who used it as a place of internment for Jews from Luxembourg.
Find out more
©Pancake! Photographie
free
with theLuxembourgPass
The Family of Man
Immerse yourself in the fascinating world of "The Family of Man" photo exhibition in Clervaux! Be inspired by this unique collection that captures the life, cultures and emotions of mankind in breathtaking images!
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Kalborn Mill
The mill in Kalborn, which is over 200 years old, has developed into a nature conservation centre. Endangered river pearl and brook mussels are bred here. Information boards in front of the mill show how gardens can provide habitats for wildlife and insects.
Find out more
©National Museum for Historical Vehicles
free
with theLuxembourgPass
National Museum for Historical Vehicles
Experience the fascinating history of vehicles at the National Conservatory of Historic Vehicles!
Find out more
©Syndicat d'Initiative Stolzemburg
Putscheid Stolzebuerger Schlass – Former Castle
Stolzembourg Castle, rooted in history since 1192, witnessed destruction in 1454 and 1679 before being revitalized with a Scottish-style manor house in 1898.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Bourscheid Hougeriicht – High justice
In the 15th or 16th century, a witch trial in Bourscheid unfolded with accusations of devilish pacts and plots against God's creation. This dark chapter mirrors a broader era of witch hunts in Luxembourg, fueled by societal turmoil, economic struggles, and the fear of a mysterious witchcraft sect.
Find out more