©Alfonso Salgueiro

Lancaster Memorial Weiswampach

Where? Urenerweeg, L-9991 Weiswampach

The Lancaster Memorial commemorates fourteen young men whose Lancaster bombers crashed near Weiswampach during the Second World War.

The Lancaster Memorial Weiswampach commemorates the crews of two Lancaster bombers who died in the Second World War. Thirteen young men lost their lives in the crash. The chapel next door offers a place of quiet contemplation.

Opening hours

Contact

Address: Syndicat d'Initiative de Weiswampach
Om Leempuddel
L-9991 Weiswampach
Show on map

More sites

©Visit Éislek
Church Saints-Côme-et-Damien
The parish church of Sts Côme et Damien in Clervaux, built in 1910/1911 in the Rhenish-Romanesque style, impresses with its striking dome above the altar and its majestic twin towers with melodic chimes.
Find out more
©Jängel Klasen
Veiner Gare – Former Trainstation
Nestled along the River Our, the town of Vianden once boasted a unique railway connection – the "Benny Express." This narrow-gauge line operated from 1889 to 1948, linking Vianden with Diekirch's main railway, a vital step in making the town more accessible to tourists.
Find out more
Trinitarian church and cloister Vianden
Discover one of the most beautiful Gothic buildings in Luxembourg!
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
St. Pierre Chapel
The chapel in Lellingen is an octagonal masterpiece that combines history and architecture in unique harmony.
Find out more
©Syndicat d'Initiative Stolzemburg
Putscheid Stolzebuerger Schlass – Former Castle
Stolzembourg Castle, rooted in history since 1192, witnessed destruction in 1454 and 1679 before being revitalized with a Scottish-style manor house in 1898.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
free
with theLuxembourgPass
General Patton Memorial Museum
The General Patton Memorial Museum in Ettelbruck commemorates the commander of the 3rd US Army whose troops liberated the town on 25 December 1944. The exhibition illustrates the most important events that occurred during the Second World War in Luxembourg.
Find out more
Saint-Hubert Church
Discover the fascinating architecture of the church, built on the ruins of a pagan site!
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Centre Cinqfontaines
The small village of Cinqfontaines (Five Wells), not far from Troisvierges, is home to a former monastery built at the beginning of the 20th century. In 1941 it was confiscated by the Nazis who used it as a place of internment for Jews from Luxembourg.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
St. Lawrence Church Diekirch
The Laurentius Church in Diekirch was planned by Pierre Biwer and completed in 1868. It was declared a national monument in 2017.
Find out more