©Visit Éislek

Kalborn Mill

Where? Kalborner Mühle, L-9757 Kalborn

The mill in Kalborn, which is over 200 years old, has developed into a nature conservation centre. Endangered river pearl and brook mussels are bred here. Information boards in front of the mill show how gardens can provide habitats for wildlife and insects.

The over 200 years ol mill in Kalborn has found over the course of time a new purpose in the field of nature protection.
The endangered freshwater pearl and common river mussels are grown in the mussel breeding station. Schools and private groups can book the water experience centre for environmental education as well as interesting excursions on the topics of ecology, limnology, botany and geology.
The Natura 2000 room is open to visitors at flexible opening hours and provides information about protected areas as well as about the Our valley.
In front of the mill, various information boards also offer interesting insights into how our gardens provide a home for wild animals and insects. 

Contact

Address: Fondation Hëllef fir d‘Natur
Kalborner Mühle
L-9757 Kalborn
Show on map

More sites

Anti-tank gun 43
At the Houfëls viewpoint, the imposing presence of two World War II relics awaits visitors.
Find out more
©Commune de Troisvierges
Troisvierges Trainstation
Troisvierges Station's story mirrors a dynamic era in European history. From a modest border stop, it transformed into a vital transportation hub, only to witness the turmoil of war and the gradual shift toward quieter days.
Find out more
The Chapel of St Mark
St Mark's Chapel in Longsdorf attracts visitors as a popular place of pilgrimage, especially on 25 April, the feast day of the holy patron saint. The chapel with its two-nave design, geometric paintings and a baroque altar is certainly worth a visit.
Find out more
Decanal church
The Wiltz Deanery Church has two naves and was built at many periods, repeatedly destroyed, enlarged and altered. A visit provides an insight into the building's turbulent past.
Find out more
©Syndicat d'Initiative Stolzemburg
Putscheid Stolzebuerger Schlass – Former Castle
Stolzembourg Castle, rooted in history since 1192, witnessed destruction in 1454 and 1679 before being revitalized with a Scottish-style manor house in 1898.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Bourscheid Hougeriicht – High justice
In the 15th or 16th century, a witch trial in Bourscheid unfolded with accusations of devilish pacts and plots against God's creation. This dark chapter mirrors a broader era of witch hunts in Luxembourg, fueled by societal turmoil, economic struggles, and the fear of a mysterious witchcraft sect.
Find out more
©Samfaitvoyager
Bavigne dam
The Bavigne dam, part of the Upper Sûre reservoir, was built in the 1950s, requiring the relocation of mills and farmsteads. Standing at 23 meters, it guards the lake's pristine water quality. Today, as a popular diving spot, it unveils submerged remnants like bridges and a mill, echoing a rich history amid the progress.
Find out more
©Jängel Klasen
Veiner Gare – Former Trainstation
Nestled along the River Our, the town of Vianden once boasted a unique railway connection – the "Benny Express." This narrow-gauge line operated from 1889 to 1948, linking Vianden with Diekirch's main railway, a vital step in making the town more accessible to tourists.
Find out more
©Ville d'Ettelbruck
Patton Monument Ettelbruck
Discover the Patton Memorial in Ettelbruck, an important place of remembrance. This monument honours General George Patton Jr, whose 3rd US Army liberated Ettelbruck in December 1944, stopping the invasion of the Wehrmacht during the Battle of the Bulge.
Find out more