©Tourist Center Clervaux

The Benedictine abbey of Saint-Maurice

Where? 1, Place de l'abbaye, L-9737 Clervaux

With centuries of history and majestic architecture, the Benedictine Abbey in Clervaux invites you to immerse yourself in the past. A place full of charm and meaning, it opens its doors to visitors on the occasion of the daily morning mass.

The Benedictine Abbey of St Mauritius towers with its bright red roofs over the city of Clervaux. Built in 1909/1910 in the neo-Romanesque style, it was settled by the Benedictines of the French Abbey of St-Maur de Glanfeuil.

Today the abbey houses about 12 monks and is not open to visitors.

An interesting exhibition in the crypt shows monastic life, and the daily morning mass at 10:00 am in the church offers the opportunity to listen to the monks’ Gregorian chants.  

The adjacent souvenir shop sells books and art objects as well as on site homemade apple juice.

Opening hours

Opening hours are subject to change. Please check them before your visit in order to be sure.
Monday24.08.2026 : 14:30 - 17:30
Tuesday25.08.2026 : 14:30 - 17:30
Wednesday26.08.2026 : 14:30 - 17:30
Thursday27.08.2026 : 14:30 - 17:30
Friday28.08.2026 : 14:30 - 17:30
Saturday29.08.2026 : 11:30 - 12:30 , 13:30 - 17:30
Sunday30.08.2026 : 11:30 - 12:30 , 13:30 - 17:30

Contact

Address: Die Benediktinerabtei Saint-Maurice
1, Place de l'abbaye
L-9737 Clervaux
Show on map

More sites

©Commune de Troisvierges
Troisvierges Trainstation
Troisvierges Station's story mirrors a dynamic era in European history. From a modest border stop, it transformed into a vital transportation hub, only to witness the turmoil of war and the gradual shift toward quieter days.
Find out more
©Joachim Köhler
Notre-Dame de Lorette Chapel
A Gem of Clervaux's Spiritual Heritage
Find out more
Anti-tank gun 43
At the Houfëls viewpoint, the imposing presence of two World War II relics awaits visitors.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Vianden Dam
The Vianden Dam is currently being transformed into an oversized artwork.
Find out more
©DCK
Former village mill Weiswampach
The village of Weiswampach holds a unique place in Éislek’s history. While most mills in the region were bound by thirlage laws, forcing villagers to use a specific mill and pay fees to the local lord, the Weiswampach mill was a remarkable exception. Though the mill itself no longer stands, its story reveals the complexities of the past and the ways local circumstances could sometimes defy rigid systems.
Find out more
©Industrie.lu
Antimonmine – Abandoned mine
Amidst the tranquil landscape, Goesdorf's geological tapestry reveals remnants of shafts and galleries, preserving the legacy of this "foundry village."
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
free
with theLuxembourgPass
General Patton Memorial Museum
The General Patton Memorial Museum in Ettelbruck commemorates the commander of the 3rd US Army whose troops liberated the town on 25 December 1944. The exhibition illustrates the most important events that occurred during the Second World War in Luxembourg.
Find out more
Saint-Hubert Church
Discover the fascinating architecture of the church, built on the ruins of a pagan site!
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
St. Pierre Chapel
The chapel in Lellingen is an octagonal masterpiece that combines history and architecture in unique harmony.
Find out more